New Mcr filmmaker podcast debuts from Serious Feather

You may remember back in December I told you about the Manchester film company Serious Feather and their debut feature, Nobody Loves You and You Don’t Deserve To Exist…

The low budget, experimental film is about a man, who, following the death of his best friend, begins to experience psychotic episodes as he comes to terms with his past and his identity.

Well the guys have started a series of podcasts in which the crew and actors talk about the challenges of producing a film during a pandemic and the exciting world of filmmaking in Manchester.

Take a listen here on Vimeo to the first and join me in following the guys for further episodes in the series!

And here’s to coming out of the other side with the release of the film and all the other wonderful, creative projects currently stalled by the c word.

Shed Seven releases new live album featuring legendary Mcr gig

Remember that balmy day back in June 2018, when the socialising was anything but distant, substantial meals were for wimps masks were for gimps (it rhymes, I have no choice).

And the mighty Sheds graced our tier-free little Castlefield Bowl in Manchester?

I do, it was immense and now we can relive those blessed times as Shed Seven release their brand new live album on December 18th.

It’s Shedcember but not as we know it!

Specially curated by the band and exclusively available on the Shed Seven store, ‘Another Night, Another Town’ captures Shed Seven’s dynamic live performances and anthemic songs over 21 tracks.

Featuring Limited Edition Numbered Coloured Gatefold Vinyl, a special 2 CD set alongside a 180g Heavyweight triple vinyl and a selection of new merchandise, the album will be released on the 18th December 2020.

Rick Witter says…

When it became clear virtually no live events would be taking place this year and with no Shedcember to look forward to we thought it was a good time to go through recordings from our 2019 tour and 2018 Castlefield Bowl show to curate the best live album we could.

From 10,000 people singing along to Chasing Rainbows at Leeds Arena to playing the classic outro of I am the Resurrection in the home of the Stone Roses, this 21 track album features the best from our live shows over the last couple of years.

The album has been mixed by Chris Sheldon who produced A Maximum High and Disco Down and we’re delighted with the results which we think are as close as we can get to capturing the Shed Seven live experience on record. We haven’t released a live album since we returned as a 5 piece in 2007 and we certainly haven’t released one as good as this!

We hope this album provides just a little bit of the live experience we’re all missing before we return in 2021.

Available to buy on the band’s store page which includes the only place to see 5 songs from the band’s biggest show at Castlefield that features on some of the tracks on the album 


Room In My House

  • Room In My House
  • Mark
  • Where Have You Been Tonight
  • People Will Talk
  • Devil In Your Shoes
  • Butterfly On A Wheel
  • She Left Me On Friday/I Am The Resurrection
  • Better Days
  • On Standby
  • It’s Not Easy
  • Getting Better
  • Enemies and Friends
  • Ocean Pie
  • Dolphin
  • High Hopes
  • Disco Down
  • Bully Boy
  • Going For Gold
  • Parallel Lines
  • Invincible
  • Chasing Rainbows 

Don’t worry, it’ll still be Shedcember 2021.

Until then, enjoy!

New album from Mcr’s The Electric Stars drops December 21

What do you mean there’s nothing to look forward to, we have no future, 2020 has nothing to offer us mancunians actuary, honorary or passing through (controversial – stick to your own tiered up towns, we’ve got enough problems).

Retro rock and roll band, The Electric Stars, are bringing their brand new album, Velvet Elvis: The only lover left alive to the table.

Released on Stoned Gospel Records, the album crashes through into our lives 21 December 2020 (see, there is hope on the other side of old LD 2.0, Tier 3 50.0).

For those not already in the know, it’s been 10 years since the Manchester band released Sonic Candy Soul , an album which has been described as

a box of psychedelic pop candy treats

and took listeners on a ‘kaleidoscopic trip into a rock and roll paradise overflowing with beautiful music.’

I think we’d all agree that that is somewhere we’d like to be right now. Bet rock and roll paradise isn’t in tier 3.

Any old how, for those wondering how anything could surpass this, Velvet Elvis promises to be worth the wait, with ’12 songs of mesmerising quality’, telling a story that ‘runs through the soul of all great rock and roll music’.

The band first formed back in 2011 with a mission for ‘original rock n roll that inspires’, and certainly have enough in their tool kit to reach all manner of music fans, writing songs which visit all ends of the scale, from the whimsical manner of The Kinks, to the downright ‘violence’ of The Sex Pistols.

Having rubbed shoulders on stage with The Charlatans, Kaiser Chiefs and one Jefferson Airplane no less, thank you very much, the guys have also worked with Middleton massives The Mock Turtles, and Hulme’s beautiful Denise Johnson who we sadly lost this year.

So (hands, face) race over to pre-order your copy of Velvet Elvis: The only lover left alive from the band’s website,